Unit 1:

This weeks main focus has been unit 1, our big research project. I have found it extremely eye opening to complete this project. Not only have I learnt about the many different elements of research, but also it has helped me to understand how important research is as a whole. If you didn’t do research, your production would not be at all as refined. I did find some elements of research harder than others. Personally I feel as though researching the location was extremely hard, as I had to find a variety of separate areas to create the most realistic scene possible. I really enjoyed researching props, as I was allowed to be creative whilst trying to recreate one of my favourite film scenes of all time.

 

Unit 2:

The other blog post we did this week was unit 2, focusing on editing. In this blog post we had to write an ‘introduction to avid’. I found this blog post to be one of the hardest so far. this is because I have never had a chance to use Avid before, and so the whole editing software is very new to me. This means that I was learning a whole new editing software. I found this both exciting and hard at the same time. It was really interesting to learn about the variety of keyboard shortcuts and different effects that you can use. I was also shown how colour correction can completely transform your project, and how it helps to give your project even more individuality.

 

Peer feedback:

Rhiana: This weeks blogs were really detailed and well made, well done Katie.

Unit 1:

This is a great start to your project Katie. You have used screenshots and other images to get what you are saying a across in a quick and effective manner. I think you should keep doing this even more, as it makes your blog post clear for the reader and for yourself in the future.

 

Unit 2:

Again, I really like the way you decided to use screenshots of your experience in Avid to help to put across your point. It is a really effective way to get across what you are trying to say in a quick and effective manner. I like the way you decided to do a step by step guide as well. Breaking down the steps makes it much easier to understand, especially if you want to look back and your post in the future to refresh your knowledge and understanding of Avid.