My Mission Statement:

I am totally and utterly in love with Film. I am fascinated by the way a Film can change the atmosphere in a room within a second. Films evoke such a deep level of emotion from an audience, from happiness to horror. I strive to create this atmosphere. I aim to put all of my emotion and passion into what I create, so I can intern create this incredible, indescribable atmosphere, to take my audience away from real life for just a small period of time.

INITIAL IDEAS:

 

Idea 1:

‘X MARKS THE SPOT’

What are you considering making?

The first initial idea i will be discussing is ‘x marks the spot’. This would be a short film showing the journey of a treasure hunt and a girl looking for an ‘X’ on a map. It would include a voiceover talking about how in life there are so many different things that require an ending. The ‘x’ on the map marks the end of the hunt, and the voice over would talk about how everyone is trying to reach the end goal without enjoying the journey.

The overall story of this piece is a treasure hunt. The shots will show a linear story of a girl going on a treasure hunt.

Why are you considering making this?

I’m considering making this short film as I feel like it is something a lot of people struggle with. Everyone has something they are looking forward to, something in the future. Striving to reach a goal is really important, but sometimes it is also important to enjoy the journey. I hope that if I made a short film about this, I would be able to discuss and have a conversation with the audience about, goals and if having goals take away from the experience of the journey.

Why is it important to you?

This idea is important to me as I think I have personally always struggled with trying to reach the end destination, without enjoying the journey. I have discovered over the past year that I like to make Films that resonate with me personally, as it helps me to feel motivated, interested and inspired by the overall Film.

Another reason that this initial idea is important to me is because my Nan always told me to do whatever makes me happy, and to not be ashamed of striving unapologetically for my goals. This has helped to inspire this idea, as I am definitely a person who like to have goals. I hope that this short film would work as a reminder to me and my audience that reaching the goal is not the most important part of the journey.

I would hope that this short film would show people that you should take a second to slow down, to look at it where you are right now, rather than looking forward to where you want to be in the future.

What skills are you going to be using?

If I was to create this short film I would be using a variety of different skills to help me to accomplish it. I would definitely like to use the skills I’ve learnt in terms of foley sound and audio to help me to make the audience feel like they are part of the scene. I would also be using other skills such as: different types of shot, white balance and colour temperature, editing and lighting.

Who is your target audience?

The Target audience this piece is actually extremely wide. I think that this idea would be appealing to all genders, and so this isn’t a limiting factor when it comes to my target audience. I also really don’t think that age would be a limiting factor to my target audience, as this short film could relate to such a large array of people. I would say around 12 and onwards is where my audience would begin. Them ain target audience of this short film would be those interested in the conversation of goals end working towards something. Such a range of people think about goals and the overall aim of life and achievements, and so I think that this short film will definitely be relevant to a large target audience.

What research will you be carrying out?

Over the past year I have learnt a huge amount about the importance of research. Because of this I will be carrying out a large amount of research, as research can be really important element in making sure the overall film looks well made, and is accurate to how you want it. I will be completing the following research:

•what else is already out there

•location

•props

•crew

•actors

•equiptment

•audio

I will also be completing important documentation such as:

•location recce

•risk assessment

•storyboard

•schedule

•equipment list

•script

Idea 2:

‘TIME’

What are you considering making?

my final initial idea is something that I have been wanting to put into action for a long period of time. I am considering making a Short Film about time. I would love to be able to make a more artistic film, using interesting shots and camera movement, foley sound and a voice over to talk about time. I would like to talk about how time plays such an important role on peoples lives, and how everyone is so dependent on doing things ‘when the time is right.’ I would like to consider whether or not this should be okay or not.

The overall concept of this film would be showing a day passing. I would show the normal activities associated with a normal teenager, getting up late, getting ready, going to work, doing college work and going to sleep. There would be shots of university applications to show the audience that the individual has a lot of important choices to make in the near future.

Why are you considering making this?

I have always been interested in time and the concept of time. Seconds, minutes, days and years. People worry so much about time passing, or wanting time to go faster. It seems like we are all so dependent on time and no one is ever really happy. I want to discuss how time shouldn’t have to matter, and that if you want something you shouldn’t wait until the ‘time is right’, you should just go for it.

Why is it important to you?

Not only is time something that fascinates me, it also scares me. I get so scared about time passing, people growing apart, the future. I would really like to express my feelings and opinions, and let my emotions and passion out on this short film.

For me personally, moving from a secondary school to a college was such a big decision. When I was making this choice, i kept thinking ‘is it the right time?’ ‘Should i go to college later after A levels?’ In the end I decided to make the leap and I have never been more happy with a decision in my life. This is another reason why the topic of time is so important to me, as it can play a huge part in decision making, and I don’t think that it should necessarily have to.

What skills are you going to be using?

When creating this short film I would be trying to showcase a variety of different skills that I have learnt throughout this year. I would definitely like to focus on Foley sound and Audio, as I really think that I have significantly developed my skills in this area this year.

Another skill I would be using is my knowledge and skill when it comes to camera movement, framing and composition.

Because this film would be slightly more abstract, I would want to use a large array of different types of shots and colours throughout the film to help evoke emotions from the audience.

Who is your target audience?

I think that the target audience for this piece would be of a reasonably size. The subject of time would relate to all genders, and so this isn’t a limiting factor when it comes to target audience. I don’t think younger people would necessarily be interested in the concept of time, and so the target would most likely be mid teens onwards. I think that the main target audience would be between 16-20. I believe this to be true because, between that ages of 16-20 is when you are making some of the most important decisions in your life. This means that the idea of time would he something people between these ages are most likely to think about. On the other hand though, age may not play an important role in the target audience of the short film. This is because this Film could relate to a large age range, it is more about the subject matter itself. Anyone who likes the discussion of the concept of time

What research will you be carrying out?

I will be completing the following research:

  • what else is already out there
  • location
  • props
  • crew
  • actors
  • equiptment
  • audio

I will also be completing important documentation such as:

  • location recce
  • risk assessment
  • storyboard
  • schedule
  • equipment list
  • script

 

 

Idea 3:

‘THE IDEA’

What are you considering making?

I am considering making a short film about ideas an where they come from. The story would be centred around a girl trying to find inspiration from somewhere, but nothing is working. The story would start with her in bed with a note pad, trying to write down ideas, but she would then give up and go to sleep. I would use Foley sound and audio as the individual tosses and turns in bed, uninspired. We would then go into the characters dreams via a transition in lighting, colour, editing and mise en scene. The story would then then show the characters idea as a person. This means that she could talk to the idea, and the idea can talk to her. the short film would end with the character waking up to an alarm, completely inspired.

Why are you considering making this?

I am considering making this short film because coming up with solid and fully formed ideas is something that I personally struggle with. I always have so many ideas in my head, but I can’t seem to get them down onto paper, if the idea in my head could come to life, then this would be completely different story.

Another reason that I am considering making this is because I am really interested in the concept of trying to make a dream like atmosphere. Being able to use editing, semiology and transitions to convey the idea of being in a dream could be a really interesting idea that I would really like to develop further.

Why is it important to you?

Like I touched on in the previous point, the idea of forming ideas is something that really interests me. I would really like to have to opportunity to think about this further.

Another reason why this idea is important to me, is because inspiration and creativity is something I have been interested in from a young age. I would be really inspired and passionate about this subject matter. Over the last year I have discovered and developed the knowledge that I love to make short films that I relevant to me in some way, as this allows me to gain more inspiration and satisfaction from the project.

Who is your target audience?

The target audience to this piece could be a different variety of people. Firstly the target audience would be people who are interested in finding inspiration, and the discussion of how ideas are made. From my experience, I also think that individuals between the ages of 16-20 often find it hard to find inspiration. This could suggest that the target audience of my piece could be slightly directed towards this age range. Although, saying this, anyone who is struggling to find inspiration, or is inspired by the idea of dreams could be interested in this short film.

What research will you be carrying out?

I will be completing the following research:

•what else is already out there

•location

•props

•crew

•actors

•equiptment

•audio

I will also be completing important documentation such as:

•location recce

•risk assessment

•storyboard

•schedule

•equipment list

•script

